



# Coach Appreciation Night 2013

On March 24<sup>th</sup>, 2018 EYBA had its second annual Coach Appreciation Night. We had over 220 coaches and spouses at the event, more than twice the attendance from the year prior. Many EYBA Coaches from all over the city (and outside of it) came out to enjoy a great dinner put on by The Sawmill, listen to inspiring speech given by Alberta Basketball's Paul Sir, and get their opportunity to win one of our many door prizes. EYBA also awarded their Coaches of the Year for each division.



Southwest Basketball's Rick Nisbet, who has spent a considerable amount of time volunteering and coaching within the EYBA emceed the event with the help of EYBA President, Jay Ouellette. Alberta Basketball's Paul Sir inspired us with his speech "The Magic of Basketball", where he discussed the importance of Basketball and the meaning it has had for him throughout his entire life.





Door Prizes were won throughout the night. Guests took home items such as shirts, sweaters, jerseys, etc. Our last 7 draws were particularly alluring as we gave away two Google Homes, two Samsung Tablets, and three 4K TVs.

The main event was our Coach of the Year Awards which are awarded to a coach in each category. In addition to our Coaches of the Year, Alberta Basketball also awards two EYBA coaches who have made a difference in youth sport and have displayed the qualities of a great coach/volunteer.

Although there is only a handful of coaches who are awarded at the event, EYBA would like to thank all their coaches and volunteers who make this organization great and who inspire, teach, and make a difference in the lives of our players.

# **Coaches of the Year**

#### **EYBA Coaches of the Year:**

Mini Girls: Co-Coaches Robyn O'Hara & Kristy Haggstrom (NEBA) Mini Boys: Matt Macauley (South West) Bantam Girls: George Hoyt (South West) Bantam Boys: Andre Schakel (SBA) Midget Girls: Ron Bumbry (SBA) Midget Boys: Bryce Tripp (Parkland Pride) Juvenile Girls: Bryce McLeod (St Albert Slam) Juvenile Boys: Tim Wadson (South East)

### Alberta Basketball Coaches of the Year:

Todd Storme (South East) Darryl Paziuk (Morinville)

#### Volunteer of the Year:

Al Lee (South West)



Left: Donna Haggstrom accepting for Mini Girls Winners Robyn O'Hara & Kristy Haggstrom Middle: Lynn Hallson Accepting for Mini Boys Matt Macauley and Bantam Girls George Hoyt Right: Bantam Boys – Andre Schakel



Left: Midget Girls – Ron Bumbry Middle: Midget Boys – Bryce Tripp Right: Juvenile Girls – Bryce McLeod



Left: Juvenile Boys – Tim Wadson Right: ABA's Paul Sir (Middle) with winners Darryl Paziuk (left) and Todd Storme (right)

Bottom: Volunteer of the Year – Al Lee

Thank you to everyone who attended our Coach Appreciation Night and to everyone who coaches and Volunteers throughout our season. We are very Thankful to have so many great people within our Organization and look forward another year of Growth within the EYBA and Basketball in Canada.



We would also like to thank the following groups who supported our Coach Appreciation Night by donating several items for the door prizes:

