

Foothills Minor Hockey Association Board of Directors Meeting 15 June, 2017 6:00 pm Ramada Meeting Room

Minutes

In attendance: Jennifer Woods, Kellie Beal, Sarah Radmanovich, Miles Kiemele, Terri Bass, Brianne Fredell, Adam Rommens, Tyler Hutton, Jacki Swanson, Chris Alexander, Brad Parker, Kevin MacIntyre

Late: Pavel Savin

Absent: Tom Kowal, James Bakken

Guest presentation on Board Governance by MJ Pfeiffer (Grassroots Governance).

The meeting was called to order by Jennifer Woods at 7:13 pm.

Confidentiality agreements were signed by all members present and will be maintained by the Secretary.

No additions to the agenda. A motion to approve the May minutes was made by Kellie Beal seconded by Jacki Swanson. Motion carried.

Operations manager report – Pavel indicates that he has nothing to report at present. A few registrations are coming in. The user group meeting with the Town is upcoming.

Bylaws – The Bylaws have been updated and will be filed by Sarah. Need to add a link for the Bylaw committee to the website.

Gosselin Bursaries – We haven't heard anything from the Gosselins regarding the bursaries this year. Nothing was announced at the golf tournament.

New Director Positions – Terri Bass and Brad Parker put their names forward for the position of Vice President. After voting, Brad was confirmed in the Vice President position. All other positions were filled by acclamation. Board positions for 2017-18 are as follows:

President – Jennifer Woods
Vice President – Brad Parker
Treasurer – Kellie Beal
Secretary – Sarah Radmanovich
AA Director – James Bakken
Equipment Director – Adam Rommens
CAHL Director – Jacki Swanson
Director of Development – Miles Kiemele
Initiation Director – Terri Bass
Novice Director – Brianne Fredell
Atom Director – Tyler Hutton
Peewee Director – vacant at present
Bantam Director – Kevin MacIntyre
Midget Director – Chris Alexander

FMHA received notice today that Tom Kowal has resigned his position on the Board. Sarah Radmanovich made a motion to approach Toby Redfern to fill a one year term on the Board, until the next AGM. Seconded by Brianne Fredell. Motion passed unanimously. If he accepts, Toby would fill the vacant Peewee position.

Committees – Ice Committee will be Pavel, Kellie, Brad, Terri, and Miles. Miles will chair the Evaluation Committee and James will chair the Affiliation Committee. Remaining Committees will be as set out in the rules and regulations.

Website Content – Brianne requests that Directors write content for their respective divisions (updates, photos, news, etc). She will post what is sent to her – we all have to contribute to keep our website looking fantastic. As well, very few members have volunteered for any committees yet, but this will hopefully improve as the season gets closer.

Equipment Drive – rather than hosting a physical drive, we will explore a way to connect people with equipment through the website. A buy/sell or classified section. This will prevent us from having to get rid of unwanted equipment.

Succession planning - We need to start planning for next year. Especially important are the President and CAHL roles. Jennifer would like to have members mentor in these roles to prepare for the following season, as the responsibilities are extensive.

Motion by Jacki Swanson: FMHA will remove Lana Bakken and Trent Williamson as signing authorities from all bank accounts, and instate Kellie Beal and Brad Parker as signing authorities. All accounts will remain two to sign. All other details regarding the accounts will remain the same. Seconded by Chris Alexander. Motion passed unanimously.

Discipline – no carry over discipline from last season.

Motion to adjourn by Kellie Beal and seconded by Terri Bass at 8:28 pm.

The next meeting will be held at 7:00 pm July 20th, at the Ramada Meeting Room.