Shot Clock Basics

DO reset the shot clock if:
1) Change of possession - A player from the opposite team stabs the ring, or bats it, or kicks it.
2) The ref signals a reset.
3) The ref signals a delayed penalty.
4) The ring contacts the goalie (or AGK) in the crease.
5) The ring contacts the goalie outside the crease and would have gone in the net if it hadn't
hit the goalie.
6) The ring hits the post or crossbar.
DO NOT reset the clock:
1) Unless you see one of the things in the list above.
2) If you think one of the things in the list above is about to happen. Wait for it!
3) If the shot was in the general direction of the net, but did not hit the net or the goalie.
4) If the ring merely deflects off a player's skate, stick, or leg. They have to direct it for it to be a reset (unless we are talking about the goalie).
5) When the whistle blows. If the ref stops the play, stop the clock. But do not reset it until you see that the stoppage has resulted in a change
of possession. If the same team has it after the whistle as before the whistle it is not a reset. If in doubt, don't reset it. The ref will tell you
to reset if it is appropriate before she restarts the play.
6) If areset occurs when there are fewer than 30 seconds left in the period, reset the clock and then stop it with 30 on the display.

REMEMBER - IF IN DOUBT, DO NOT RESET. The referee will signal you to reset.

Revision: 2024



