St. John's Minor Hockey Association operates a minor hockey organization for youth in the City of St. John's in cooperation with the Avalon Minor Hockey Association. Players are assigned to each minor hockey association based upon the school in which they are enrolled. Players remain with their minor hockey association as they progress through the school system, and are not required to change associations when they move from junior to senior high school. The following table identifies the schools currently assigned to each minor hockey association

St. John's Minor Hockey	Avalon Minor Hockey	Mount Pearl Minor Hockey
Beaconsfield Junior High Ecole Des Grand Gonzaga High School Hazelwood Elementary Holy Heart High School Lakecrest School Larkall Academy Leary's Brook Junior High Mary Queen of Peace Roncolli St. John Bosco St. Matthew's Elementary St. Patrick's Elementary St. Paul's Junior High St. Theresa's Elementary Brookfield Plains Kenmount Terrace	Bishop Abraham Bishop Field Brother Rice Cowan Heights Elementary Eastpoint Holy Cross McPherson Elementary MacDonald Drive Elementary MacDonald Drive Junior High Prince of Wales Collegiate Rennies River St. Andrews St. Bon's St. Mary's Vanier Elementary Waterford Valley High	Southlands

Players attending schools other than those identified above, or have alternative schooling arrangements are assigned to St. John's Minor Hockey Association.