2022-2023 AGM Minutes Saturday September 9,2023 @12:00 PM Design Works Centre 6 Knowledge Way Grande Prairie, AB



- 1) Welcome & Call to Order @ 12:00 PM
 - Minute of Remembrance for all our hockey family that have passed away this past year, Guests: Will Galway, April Hecht (Fox Creek)
 - Introductions of the Board: President: Peter Burletoff
 - Secretary/Treasurer: Lorna LeBlanc APHL Web Manager: Lisa Burletoff APHL VP U18:
 Simon Juckes
 - APHL VP U15: Dave Campbell
 - APHL VP U13: Jared May
 APHL VP U11: Zac Michalko
 APHL VP Female: Tania Horseman
- 2) Attendance & Contact List:

<u>In Attendance:</u> Beaverlodge, Chetwynd, Dawson Creek, East Smoky, Fairview, Fort St John, Grande Cache, Grande Prairie, Grimshaw, High Level, Horse Lake, LaCrete, Manning, Peace River, Sexsmith, Slave Lake, Smoky River, Spirit River, Valleyview.

Not in attendance: Clairmont, Wembley. Inactive: Horse Lake, LaGlace, Taylor. New Member in attendance: Fox Creek.

Please send any new association contact information to Lorna and include your President and APHL rep information by September 13, 2023.

- 3) Additions to the Agenda
- a) Shortage of officials Could associations mandate that 2 parents from each team become officials?
- b) Send in your tiering requests by September 15 please.
- 4) Minutes from AGM June 13,2022 AGM to be approved. (Attachment #2)

Motion to accept: Fort St John Seconded: LaCrete Carried

5) Old Business:

Review of 2022-2023 Season

Peter Burletoff advised overall a solid year. There was an increase in post-game incidents during the handshakes. We had mostly positive comments about the tournament style playoffs. We had 1469 players. Simon Juckes advised that overall the APHL had success in Provincials, due to proper tiering of teams.

- 6) New Business
 - a) Associations bonds refunded & removed as members of the APHL:
 - 1) Tumbler Ridge:
 - 2) Clearview:
 - : Association fee not paid for 2022-2023 season and no communication after attempts to contact. Bond has been refunded minus the 2022-2023 association fee.
 - b) APHL Playoffs: Feedback from associations/teams regarding weekend tournament style playoffs vs 5-6 weeks of playoffs.

Motion: Beaverlodge moved, Peace River seconded to move all playoffs to tournament style.

3 opposed Carried.

Associations would apply to host a playoff tournament. Bid packages to include cost, host hotels, etc, similar to Hockey Alberta Provincials bids, but smaller and simpler. Various options could be home team provides some off ice officials and visiting team provides as well. NAHL pays score and timekeepers for their playoff tournaments. LaCrete regularly pays score/timekeepers \$ 25.00 per game.

Supplemental Discipline: Fairview Discussion
 Fairview would like to see thresholds re started at zero for playoffs and not published on the website at all during the season.

- d) End of game shaking of hands:
 - : APHL would like to see this removed at all levels.
 - : HC, EFHL & CAHL are this way already.
 - : 3 Cheers and stick taps
 - : Less post-game non sense/suspensions.

Motion: Slave Lake moved, Spirit River seconded to remove end of game handshakes. 8 opposed, 12 for Carried.

New process will be outlined and sent out.

- e) Non-Body Checking:
 - : U15 & U18
 - : Tier 1NBC, Tier 2NBC & Tier 3NBC
 - : Tier 1NBC has the opportunity to compete at HA Provincials
- f) Important Dates:
 - : APHL 2023-2024 Kick off meeting Wednesday September 9, 2023 @ 1:00 PM
 - : All other dates to be discussed at the 2023-2024 APHL Kick off meeting.
- g) Financial Report: Lorna (attachment #3 & #4)
 - Review

Motion: Sexsmith moved to accept the financials as presented, Smoky River seconded.

Carried.

- h) Constitution changes: Separate document: No Additions/Changes
- i) Appendix additions: : Social media Policy Appendix 7 (attachment #5) Tabled to Tiering Meeting.
- 7) Executive for 2023-2024 Season: (Elections)
 - : Nominations will be accepted from the floor.
 - : There will be a 1^{st} call for nominations, then a 2^{nd} call for nominations and a 3^{rd} and final call for nominations.
 - : If no nominations from the floor the nominee must be motioned in and have a 2nd and a vote.
 - : If there is a nomination(s) from the floor then a vote will take place. Each nominated person will have a chance to address the membership, while the other nominee(s) are waiting outside the room.
 - a) President: Open for Election Recommendation Peter Burletoff.
 Peter Burletoff acclaimed as President.
 - b) Director- U 11 Zac Michalko was elected on a 1- year term for the 2022-2023 season and is up for re- election.
 Zac Michalko acclaimed as Director U11.

- c) Director U 13 Jared May year 2 of 2 term is up and is open for nominations.
 Will Galway acclaimed as Director U13.
- d) Director U 15 –Dave Campbell serving term 2 of 2
- e) Director U 18 Simon Juckes serving year 2 of 2
- f) Female Director Tania Horseman has served a 2- year term up for election. Tania Horseman acclaimed as Female Director.
- g) Secretary/Treasurer Lorna LeBlanc serving year 2 of 2
- h) Web Site Coordinator: Appointed by the President
- 8) **Discipline Coordinators** (Commissionaires) for 2023-2024 season to be provided by the following associations, and to be determined at the Kick Off meeting or sooner.
 - a) U 11 Division Smoky River: (recommendation be Amber Boman)
 - b) U 13 Division High Level: (recommendation be Alison Holditch)
 - c) U 15 Division Taylor: (recommendation be Haley Genovese)
 - d) U 18 Division FSJ: (recommendation be Kali Everton)
 - e) Female Division LaGlace:
- 9) Round table:
- 10) Motion for adjournment at 2:08 pm moved by Fort St John and seconded by Peace River.

