

## COCHRANE MINOR HOCKEY ASSOCIATION

## ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING OF SHAREHOLDERS

Date: Wednesday, May 15th, 2024

**Time:** 7:00 p.m.

Venue: Spray Lake Sawmills Family Sports Centre

#### CHAIRMAN'S AGENDA

**ACTING CHAIRMAN:** Cory Oaten

#### APPOINTMENT OF SECRETARY AND SCRUTINEER

**Cory Oaten:** This Meeting will now come to order. I am Cory Oaten, President of the Board of Directors of Cochrane Minor Hockey Association and will act as Chairman of the Meeting. I want to welcome you to the Annual General Meeting of shareholders of Cochrane Minor Hockey association.

Before we begin the formal part of the Meeting, I would like to introduce you to your Board of Directors and Cochrane Minor Hockey Association (Please raise your hands when name called):

- Jessica McPhail, Secretary
- Ashley Raabis, Vice President, Operations
- Pierre Landry, Vice President, High Performance

- Bobbi Woodward, Vice-President, Rockies Hockey League
- Paul Ringrose, Vice-President, Player Development
- Vacant, Vice-President, Female
- Andreja Grenier, Director Finance
- Marc Gelinas, Director High Performance
- Stephanie Rapp, Director CAHL
- Craig Lane, Director Coach
- Jesse Nickel, Director Female Operations
- Shawn Cathers, Director, Female Development
- Scott McCulloch, Director Player Development
- Richard Dupre, Director Intro to Hockey
- Shane Viste, RHL Director
- Kiran Moen, Director Diversity & Inclusion
- Steve McEwan, Director Equipment/Special Projects
- Mark Lowerison, Director Goalie
- Pierre Lanrey, Past President
- Mitchell Dixon, Mini Thni Director
- Randy Hudson, Evaluation Director

### Front office team:

- Shelly Javorsky, Operations Coordinator
- Tracey Nash, Administrator
- Angela Sellwood, Registrar, and operations team

**Shelly Javorsky**: At this time we would like to announce our Mike Bigland Scholarship awards.

**Cory Oaten**: Review of financials; We will review the board approved 2024/25 budget prior to starting the formal meeting, Andreja Grenier will have the floor.

**Cory Oaten:** To begin the formal part of the Meeting, with their approval, I will ask Jessica McPhail to act as Secretary and Shelly Javorski to act as Scrutineer.

# **NOTICE OF MEETING**

**Cory Oaten:** In accordance with the Alberta Societies Act and By-Laws of Cochrane Minor Hockey, notice is hereby given that the Annual General Meeting of the Association will commence.

#### **QUORUM AND SCRUTINEERS REPORT**

**Cory Oaten:** In accordance with Cochrane Minor Hockey Association Bylaws, business may be conducted at this Meeting if not less than 10 Board of Directors and not less than 10 association members are present.

I would like to confirm with The Scrutineer that there is a quorum consisting of both association members and BOD members present at the meeting.

**Shelly:** With more than 10 Board members and 10 association members present, I can confirm that we have quorum and are free to conduct business.

#### MEETING REGULARLY CONSTITUTED

**Cory Oaten:** I declare the Meeting regularly called and properly constituted for the transaction of business.

#### FINANCIAL STATEMENTS AND AUDITORS' REPORT

**Cory Oaten:** The first item of business is the presentation to shareholders of the Financial Statements of the Association for the year ended April 30, 2023. A copy of the financials has been reviewed and the financials have been posted on our website for all members to view.

**Cory Oaten:** I believe Ashley Raabis has a motion in this connection.

**Ashley Raabis:** I make a motion that we approve the financial statements as presented for the year ended April 30, 2023

**Paul Ringrose:** I second the motion.

**Cory Oaten:** With the motion being seconded, all those in favor of approving the financial statements as presented please signify by raising your hands. Any withheld?

I declare the financial statements as written for the year ending April 30, 2023 approved.

With voting now complete, the motion has been carried and I declare the Financial Statements as written for the year ending April 30, 2023, approved.

## INTRODUCTION OF NEW BOARD MEMBERS

## Cory Oaten:

We have two nominations for CAHL director: Heather Sweetapple and Joel Heal will be vying for the position of CHL director. Each will have approximately five minutes to

deliver a quick speech, followed by a paper ballot vote. Speech order will be alphabetical. Joel will have the floor first.

Jessica McPhail, the CMHA secretary, will administer and count the vote alongside Shelly and the office team. The winner will be determined by a simple majority, with both members in good standing and board members eligible to vote. Only one ballot per person will be permitted.

The president, acting as chair, will not vote unless there is a tie, in which case the president will act as the tiebreaker. Shelly and the office team will oversee the vote count, and anyone who wishes to participate can act as a ballot count overseer.

(Jessica - report on a written note to the President).

**Cory Oaten:** The winner by majority is: Heather Sweetapple

## Ashley Raabis: CMHA 2024/25 Board of Directors (staggered nomination years)

The following positions were posted for nomination on the April 12, 2024th notice of Annual General Meeting and with the winner of the CAHL director race here is your 2024/25 board of directors.

Position	Held by	Election year	Status
President	Cory Oaten	2025	Closed
VP High Performance	Pierre Landry	2024	Elected by Acclamation
VP Operations	Ashley Raabis	2025	Closed
VP RHL	Bobbi Woodward	2024	Elected by Acclamation
VP Female	Vacant	2025	No nominations

VP Player Development	Paul Ringrose	2024	Elected by Acclamation
High Performance Director	Marc Gelinas	2025	Closed
CAHL Director		2024	Voting
Female Operations Director	Jesse Nickel	2025	Closed
Female Development Director	Shawn Cathers	2024	No nominations
Special Projects/Equipment Director	Steve McEwan	2024	Elected by Acclamation
Evaluations Director	Randy Hudson	2025	Closed
Finance Director	Andreja Grenier	2024	Elected by Acclamation
Diversity and Inclusion Director	Kiran Moen	2025	Closed
Intro to Hockey Director	Richard Dupre	2025	Closed
Coach Director	Craig Lane	2025	Closed
Goalie Director	Mark Lowerison	2024	Elected by Acclamation

Player Development Director Scott 2025 Closed

McCulloch

RHL Director Shane Viste 2024 Open for nominations

#### Front office team:

Shelly Javorsky, Operations Coordinator

- Tracey Nash, Administrator
- Angela Sellwood, Registrar, and operations team

#### TERMINATION OF MEETING

**Cory Oaten:** As all business has been completed, I believe Paul Ringrose has a motion to terminate the Meeting.

**Paul Ringrose:** I move that the Meeting be terminated.

Ashley Raabis: I second the motion.

**Cory Oaten:** With the motion being seconded, all those in favor of terminating this AGM, please signify by raising your hands. Any withheld?

With voting now complete, the motion has been carried, I declare this Meeting adjourned.

As the formal portion of this Meeting has been completed, we would like to thank you for your attendance and move to the less formal part of the meeting.

# **Shelly Javorsky** - Announce Volunteer awards:

High Performance(AA or AAA) Team Manager - Kevin Chubey

High Performance (AA or AAA) Volunteer Coach of the Year - Jordan Smith

RHL Volunteer Manager of the Year - Katie St. Marie

RHL Volunteer Coach of the Year - Duane Dale

Intro to Hockey Volunteer Manager of the Year - Michelle Shea

Intro to Hockey Volunteer Coach of the Year - Jayman Matlo

Rep Volunteer Manager of the Year - Mandie Schuler

REP Volunteer Coach of the Year - Steve Reede

Cochrane Minor Hockey Special Recognition Award - Andreja Grenier

# **Year in Review - Updates:**

## **Bobbi Woodward**

**Paul Ringrose** - CMHA would like to recognize its volunteers including departing Board of directors.. (Just a brief shoutout to all volunteers)

Membership questions.

## **END OF MEETING**