# Cranbrook Minor Hockey Association



PO Box 20065 Cranbrook, BC V1C 6J5 cranbrookminorhockey@gmail.com

## <u>2022 Annual General Meeting Minutes</u> <u>May 18<sup>th</sup>, 6:30 pm @ Heritage Inn, Cranbrook BC</u>

Attendance: Todd Leffler, Todd Kostiuk, Pete Stefano, Dave Kaczowka, John Taggart, Wade Lamond, Aaron Byng-Hall, Colin Sinclair, Desiree Roberts, Ashley Roberts, Desiree Janowicz, Richard Nelson, Brandon Cavener, Randi Morrison, Kim Eagles, Lyndsay Osterlund, Giacomo Scavo, Kevin Dyer, Sarah Mooy, Mark Eagles, Alyssa Dodge, Bob Botterill, Courtney Magro, Megan Frew, Sam Quinn, Meghan Hatala, Natalie Brons, Jeff Scott, Dustin London, Pam Pinch, Jolana Campbell, Jessica Ross, Claire Becker, Lorraine Harvey, Rene Cristales, Jennifer Taggart, Amber Martin, Cara London, Emma Gourlie, Jon Roberts, Evan Thompson, Wade Daignault, Marie Biggy, Krista Scavo, Luis Rodriguez

1) Call to Order 6:31 pm

## 2) Welcome and Presidents Message

-By current President, Todd Leffler

## 3) Approval of AGM Minutes from 2021

1<sup>st</sup> Brandon Cavener

2<sup>nd</sup> Randi Morrison

## 4) Referee Reports and awards from Kevin Dyer and Todd Leffler

- Rookie of Year to London Virostek

-Official of the Year to Nolan Lamond

#### 5)Treasurer Report

Todd Kostiuk briefly went over the preliminary report. Full written report available with agenda

Approval of Treasurer Report

1<sup>st</sup> Giacomo Scavo

2<sup>ND</sup> Desiree Janowicz

## 6) Division Year End Summaries

Todd advised that the year end summary for each division is available with the agenda and gave option for division heads to speak to anything they wanted to in regard to that. No comments.

## 7) Election of New Executive Members

Returning Executive with one year left on their term – Dave Kaczowka, John Taggart, Aaron Byng-Hall.

## **Nominated**

1)Todd Leffler

2)Todd Kostiuk – 1 year term

- 3)Wade Lamond- 1 year term
- 4)Peter Stefano- 1 year term
- 5)Giacomo Scavo

6)Kim Eagles

- 7)Randi Morrison
- 8)Desiree Janowicz
- 9)Brandon Cavener

### 9 people nominated to fill 7 roles, vote was taken

#### **Elected**

Todd Leffler Todd Kostiuk – 1 year term, Randi Morrison Wade Lamond- 1 year term Peter Stefano- 1 year term Desiree Janowicz Kim Eagles

#### 8) Election of New Directors

Returning Directors with one year left on their term - Desiree Roberts, Ashley Roberts, Brandon Cavener, Darrell Cuthill.

#### Nominated

**Richard Nelson** 

Graham Waugh

Giacomo Scavo

Pam Pinch- Declined

Colin Sinclair-Declined

**Bob Botterill** 

Courtney Magro

Dustin London

Wade Daignault

7 people nominated to fill 6 positions, vote was taken

#### Elected

Richard Nelson

Giacomo Scavo

Bob Botterill

Courtney Magro

Dustin London

Wade Daignault

#### 9) New Business

A. Open discussion/questions

- Asked if we could post the board meeting dates and times- yes will going forward
- Asked where meeting minutes can be found website
- Asked about why we are running a deficit and what can be done
  - Reason- Ref costs were increased to stay in line with other associations
  - New jerseys due to rebranding with bucks
  - Socks for next year already purchased so once paid will bring down
  - Bank fees- Large amounts, looking at a move to a different bank with better fees
- What is being done?
  - o Increased registration costs this year
  - Moving banks
- Asked about 'team fines' on budget
  - Previous team fines were paid by CMHA but we now have policy in place that going forward teams will be responsible to pay their own fines
- Asked if anything was in place for families that have trouble with costs
  - Jump Start and KidSport-links to both on website
  - First Shift when available is a great way to start in hockey but max 30 kids
  - Advised that if anyone is struggling with cost/equipment to reach out the Lyndsay for assistance, we want to see kids on the ice!

#### 9) Next Meeting

Next meeting for Executive and regular Board Meeting to be discussed and set via email

Meeting Adjourned @ 7:45 pm

Thanks to all who attended!