

Innisfail Minor Hockey Association Executive Board Meeting Date: March.24.2023 6:00 pm

Place: Innisfail Arena

Participants Participants							
Invited	Attend	Regrets	Invited	Attend	Regrets		
Candace Schmidt	Х		Stephanie Restau	X			
Jeff Borle	X		Angie Miller	X			
Lorne Harrison	X		Ryan Philip	X			
Darren Black	X		Renee Baumung		X		
Madison Denson		X	Teresa Dodd	X			
Alan Smith		X	Len Istace	X			
Lisa Duke		X	Bruce Rafuse		X		
Kim Mellroy	X		Andrew Filipchuk	X			

Agenda				
Item #	Topics to be discussed			
1.	Call to order			
2.	Additions and Approval of Agenda			
3.	Reading and adoption of Minutes: January 24th, 2023			
4.	Old Business None			
5.	New Business a) Awards Night b) Nomination Committee & deadlines c) AGM Incentive d) Junior Coach Follow-up			
6.	Correspondence a) Email U13 b) Hockey Canada c) Email U15 d) Hockey Alberta Referee Complaint			
7.	Directors' Reports			
8.	Next Meeting Date			
9.	Adjournment			

Minutes		
Item #		
1.	Candace Schmidt called meeting to order at 6:04 pm	
2.	Additions and approval of agenda Len Istace made motion to accept the agenda as presented. Ryan Philip seconded. Motion Carried	
3.	Reading and adoption of minutes: January 24 th , 2023 Jeff Borle made motion to approve the January 24 th , 2023, minutes as presented. Andrew Filipchuk seconded. Motion Carried	
4.	Old Business None	

5. **New Business** a) Award night votes; coach, manager & referee All candidate nominations discussed: 16 Coaches nominated by 31 individuals 10 Managers nominated by 26 individuals Kim Mellrov made motion to select Jeff Borle as Coach of the Year for U11 & under. Len Istace seconded. Motion Carried (Jeff Borle recused) Jeff Borle made motion to select Stephen Bates as Coach of the Year for U13 & up. Len Istace seconded. Motion Carried Kim Mellroy made motion to select Corrie Borle as Manager of the Year for U11 & under. Len Istace seconded. Motion Carried (Jeff Borle & Ryan Philip recused) Ryan Philip made motion to select Greg Stevens as Manager of the Year for U13 & up. Andrew Filipchuk seconded. Motion Carried (Angie Miller recused) Ryan Philip made motion to select Greg Stevens as Manager of the Year for U13 & up. Andrew Filipchuk seconded. Motion Carried (Angie Miller recused) Angie Miller made motion to select Dylan Windebank for the Zach Smith Memorial Award for young official. Len Istace seconded. Motion Carried (Lisa Duke recused) Len Istace made motion to select Trevor Stoddard for the referee of the year award. Teresa Dodd seconded. Motion Carried Len Istace made motion to select Brett Kelly for the Vince Tedeschini Award. Kim Mellroy seconded. Motion Carried b) Nomination Committee & deadlines Teresa Dodd, Angie Miller & Andrew Filipchuk List advertised & to membership 30 days before the AGM & nominations are open until 7 days prior to AGM **AGM Incentive** Discussion on incentives to get members to attend the AGM Angie Miller makes motion for two "\$250 dollars off registration fees for 2023/24 season" prizes where member is present at AGM and draw is made at conclusion of AGM. Ryan Philip seconded. Motion Carried d) Junior Coach follow-up IMHA Development director to send out a survey to coaches for feedback for junior coaches 6. Correspondence a) Email U13 Hockey Canada Email U15 Hockey Alberta Referee Complaint Directors' Reports 7. Coach/Player Development (Andrew Filipchuk) Going to improve coach development and more involved with coaches & kids. Get a file on each coach to follow up & provide more support to the coaching staff b) U7/Eaglets (Stephanie Restau) No report U9 (Angie Miller) No report U11 (Lisa Duke) No report U13 (Kim Mellroy) No report U15 (Madison Denson) ABSENT

	g)	U18 (Renee Baumung)	
		• ABSENT	
	h)	Female (VACANT)	
		• VACANT	
	i)	Vice President (Jeff Borle)	
		April 18 – 6 PM: Prizes	
		Champion Hockey Development.	
		The Dome gave us batting cage and Gift cards budget \$200.00	
		 Val Norrie giving some hoodies and swag bags 	
		Suggestion that teams send in spreadsheets twice per year	
		 Give option to pay the \$200 fundraising for next year upon registration instead of selling tickets 	
	j)	Registrar (Teresa Dodd)	
		 No report but we need some year-end surveys coaches in general and feedback on the year 	
	k)	Treasurer (Lorne Harrison)	
		No report	
	l)	Referee in Chief (Len Istace)	
		Stepping down as Referee In Chief. Terry Hollman has expressed interest in this role	
	m)	Executive Director (Darren Black)	
		• ABSENT	
	n)	Equipment Director (Ryan Philip)	
		No report	
	0)	Past President (Bruce Rafuse)	
		• ABSENT	
	p)	President (Candace Schmidt)	
•		No report	
8.		neeting: Annual General Meeting: April 24th, 2023 – Innisfail Legion	
9.	•	nment:	
	Len Istace moved to adjourn the meeting at 8:12 pm. Ryan Philip seconded. Motion Carried		
	Minutes: Candace Schmidt		
	iransc	ribed: Alan Smith	

Item #	Action	Who
5 (a)	Get awards engraved	Darren Black
5 (b)	Work on nominations for vacant & vacating positions	Nomination Committee
5 (c)	Advertise AGM incentive award	Darren Black
5 (d)	Survey the coaches on the junior coaches they had last season	Andrew Filipchuk