



#### 1) Call to Order: 7:00 pm by Dan Laplante President

Lee Watkins explains how polling will work via Webex.

# 2) Approval of the 2020 AGM Minutes

Copy of the previous AGM minutes were distributed prior to the meeting for review by the Board Members.

Motion by Pat deHass 2nd by Jamie MacGregor to accept the 2020 AGM minutes as presented.

Poll: 75 Yes 19 Opposed 80% in favour

#### 3) Presidents Report

Strategic Review Committee

Female Review Committee

Independent Coach Director 6-month appointed term. 2-year reappointment

14 board members engaged in Coach Selection process

Shared Ice Scheduler with OMHA - resulting in better ice utilization

Shared Registrar with OMHA – streamlined process

Expand on the existing Collaboration with Draw Zone associations

Formation of Female Elite Committee

Athletic Therapy review committee

Thank you to all the volunteers who make it happen for OOAA

# OOAA AGM Attendance by year

2011 - 6

2013 - 7

2014 - 11

2015 - 10

2016 - 11

2017 - 15

2018 - 16

2019 - 13 + 8 coaches

2020 - 41

2021 - 100 +

# 4)Vice President Report Pat deHaas

Through a dedicated volunteer base, the Okotoks Oilers Athletic Association will deliver an elite hockey program that will set the standard of excellence in developing hockey players to the next level. This will be achieved through our four pillars of success.

# 5) 2020 Financial Report

# Presented by Bob Thompson Motion by 2nd by to accept the report as given. Carried

My first task in assuming the position of Treasurer was to review prior year financial statements, budgeting and internal controls. My findings were as follows:

- 1. There had never been an audit completed
- 2. The internal financial statements that had been prepared and presented in the past had a material misstatement. There was a receivable set up for GST refunds in the amount of \$35,000. The Association is not able to claim GST refunds. As a result, the income was overstated by this amount. These amounts have been adjusted in the current financial statements.
- 3. Casino Income is crucial for the Association.
- 4. Internal Control over cash was very lacking.
- 5. There were teams with substantial balances in their accounts that were not known to the Treasurer. We now close all accounts at year end so that we have visibility over all funds that the Association is responsible.
- 6. There were people that were signatories to accounts that were not members of the Association. This obviously is problematic as the Association has not any control over members who are not members.
- 7. OOAA and OMHA started preliminary discussions this year as to a merger of the Associations which I believe is ongoing.
- 4) Appointment of Auditors Bob Thompson motions to have Ernest & Young for Auditors the upcoming Fiscal year 2nd Pat deHaas Poll: 66/97 yes (68%) 12/97 no (12%) 19 no answer (20%)
- 5) OMHA President Geoff Stewart
  OMHA Registration opened
  U13 Female discussion to have the team to join OOAA
  U11 Atom 1 to move to one team from two teams
  Registration is down due to HSL in Novice to Atom
- 6) Sponsorship / Fundraising Opportunities Carolyn Berven Different fundraising opportunities for the association moving forward
- 7) Director of Coach Development Mike Bara44 coaches applies for 11 teams5 individuals on the coach selection panelSkills development on board for upcoming season

8) Ice Scheduler - Jamie Steer Conditioning camps and tryout dates given

# 9) Register- Lindsay Graw

Updates on new Ramp system to register for camps and tryouts. Clearer pathways on options for families.

# 10) Female Elite Committee - Jamie McGregor

Overview of new female elite council newly formed and working with sister associations and liaison between HA.

**Elections** 

President

Nominated: Dan Laplante nomination submitted and accepted via email Greg Bodnarchuk nominated by Tammy Moore via chat

56% Dan Laplante

31% Greg Bodnarchuk

11% abstained

Vice President

Nominated: Mark Kozak nomination submitted and accepted via email Konrad Berg nominated by Karla Helm & Amber Williams (Confirmed Nomination accepted by Trevor McFarlane in chat as Konrad

is a non member)

49% Mark Kozak

35% Konrad Berg

14% Abstained

Treasurer

Nominated: Pat deHass nominated submitted and accepted via email Nicole Brockoff nominated by Karla Helm - declined

Acclaimed

Secretary - Kelly Lauritsen nominated submitted and accepted via email No other nominations

Acclaimed

U18AAA Bow Mark Oilers

Nominated: Rob Ellis nominated and accepted via email Randy Partaker nominated by Jeremy Gough declined Acclaimed

U18AA Oilers - Carolyn Berven nominated and accepted via email Acclaimed

U16AAA/ AA - Bruce Layte nominated and accepted via email

Trevor Bueckert nominated by Nicole Brockhoff - declined Acclaimed

U15AAA Cary Legrandeur nominated and accepted via email Acclaimed

U15AA - Sheena Fox nominated and accepted via email Acclaimed

U13AA - Mark Kozak nominated and accepted via email Acclaimed

U18AAA Rocky Mountain Raiders- Nicki Simard nominated and accepted via email
Acclaimed

U18AA Rocky Mountain Raiders - Trish Stewart nominated and accepted via email Acclaimed

U15AA Rocky Mountain Raiders - Amber DenHoed nominated and accepted via email
Acclaimed

Director at Large: 4 positions

Nominated

Orinda McCann -67% Michelle Barratt- 61% Scott Harding-59% Mike Reiber- 59% Tracy Stewart- 70% Jeremy Gough- 44% Not answered - 11%

Motion to adjourn from Pat deHaas and 2nd from Jamie McGregor

Jennifer Pott

Attendance:

Dan Laplante

Michael Smith Ryan Rarick Tammy Moore Nicki Simard Brian McClinchey Orinda McCann Traci Frost **Dennis Inalis** Lisa Rivett Leanne Carson Jamie Fox Geoff Stewart Colleen Kozak Jarett Burgeson Bob Thompson Angella Derdall Tammy Gurr **Sheldon Matthews Tracy Stewart** Brenda Secord

Tammy Olsen Geoff Scott Lee Watkins \*\* Kelly Lauritsen Trish Stewart \*\* Pat De Haas Karla Helm Darcee Evans Trevor McFarlane Blain Sikora Nicole Brockoff Roxanne Hoinocki Jamie McGregor Al-Amin Vira Lindsay Draw Mike Reiber Jamie Steer \*\* David Gilbert Trent Williamson Wes Flanagan Roger Schaub Nancy McInenly

Krista Beaton Gord Hefferan Kim Deck Darla Milford Mel Crowson Sheena Fox Jennifer Page Tyler Groeneveld Lee Hellyer Michelle Barratt Trevor McCallum Jarrett Finney Susan Stacheruk **Amber Williams** Tracy Anderson **Rod Steinert** Amanda Crook Greg Semrau

Clifton Griffith
Amber DenHoed
Bill Kidd??
Scott Harding
Rob Ellis \*\*
Gillian Gray
David Davis
Carolyn Berven
Mandy Easson
Cam Borgford
Natalie Coady
Waylon Helman
Kim Fiala
Cary LeGrandeur
Jeff Cowling

Cary LeGrandeur
Jeff Cowling
Mike Brennan
Mike Bara \*\*
Bruce Layte
Brad Sicotte
Robyn Brown
Amy Snyder
Randy Partaker

Brittany Kelly Blair Scott Mitch Pichette Dan Miller Glenn Walker Jason Perry Rob Hale

Allison Kit- Allen Tim McCullough Greg Bodnarchuk Ann Pettersen Jeremy Gough

Rob Hale

Michelle Murphy Alicia Derksen Dustin Borbandy Ben Graham Karla Mahussier