PEISA 2014 AWARD WINNERS

Administrator of the Year



John Diamond, PEISA President, presents Sherry MacDonald with the Administrator of the Year Award.

Sherry MacDonald, Souris Lamplighters SC, has been president for 4 years and has worn many hats, filling in on vacant executive positions.

She has been a driving force at the club, including overseeing the club website, introducing winter programs and coaching clinics, and is a passionate in ensuring all the kids have somewhere to play in the summer. She has done a great job promoting the game, and has ensured that even despite declining population in the town, the club is still healthy with good registration numbers.

Alan Godfrey Volunteer of the Year



Heath Coles, CQ Clippers Youth Director, accepts the Alan Godfrey Volunteer of the Year award, on behalf of Monica Simpson, from Linda Godfrey.

Monica Simpson takes on the thankless task of coordinating the 80 team Clippers tournament, and she went over and beyond this past year to make the 25th year anniversary of the event special.

She acted on feedback for suggestions to improve the tournament and the changes made it arguably the most successful ever, and in addition she organized a special ceremony which included numerous past executive members.

She serves as VP at the club, always contributing ideas and suggestions, and taking a very hands on approach to the daily tasks needed to keep things running smoothly.



Coach of the Year

Bruce Norton(right), PEISA Technical Director, presents Janos Barna with the Coach of the Year award.

Janos Barna, Eliot river Ramblers Club President, coached two teams and was assistant for one other, including leading the RC United U14 girls to a regular season and provincial title, and they performed with great spirit at the nationals in Charlottetown and Cornwall.

He also guided the U12 Boys second division to a provincial title, and led East Wiltshire to a bronze medal in the schools championship.

Janos is dedicated, is preparing to complete his B-License, and will take charge of the U15 Girls Provincial team in 2015.

Junior Female Player of the Year



David Vos(right), representing SoccerStop, presents Carly Connell with the Junior Female Player of the Year award.

Carly Connell, Sherwood-Parkdale Rangers SC, is always exciting to watch and capable of some great moments. Carly is the stand-out player for her age, and her performances for the Provincial team saw her named to Team Atlantic, where she competed in BC in the Pacific Challenge Series.

Likely to score some spectacular goals, Carly was selected to the U18 all-star team to play in the Atlantic showcase, and she helped Charlottetown Rural win silver during the school season.



Junior Male Player of the Year

Kirk McAleer(left), PEISA Treasurer, presents Mon San Aung with the Junior Male Player of the Year award.

Mon San Aung, Winsloe-Charlottetown Royals FC, is without doubt one of the best talents on PEI, and in 2014 he played on the U18 premier team and U16 Provincial All-Star team, where his strong performances in central midfield saw him named to Team Atlantic and take part in the Pacific Challenge in BC. Whilst there he was named in the top 35 players of the tournament, and played in a game of distinction in front of the national coaches.

He is strong, skilled and has great vision, and has a great future ahead in the game.

Junior Referee of the Year



Jim Chandler, PEISA Director of Officials, presents Tyler Deagle with the Junior Referee of the Year award.

Tyler Deagle is mentored by his older brother Corey and is showing signs that he will eventually overtake his older brother and be an even better official!

Tyler has shown he can handle the big occasion and his assignments have included the U14 Atlantic All-Stars, the Midget AA gold medal game, and some important games at the U14 Nationals this fall.

He has great fitness and a fine temperament, and is destined to become an excellent senior referee.

Senior Referee of the Year



Jim Chadler(left), PEISA Director of Officials, presents Mike Kok with the Senior Referee of the Year award.

Mike Kok is someone who has been refereeing for many years, and arguably does more games than anybody.

Mike deserves the recognition for his willingness to officiate on any given night at any level, and is equally happy taking under-12 as he is UPEI or Holland College.

Mike has been one of PEI's most consistent officials for many years, and he consistently gives a solid effort night after night, whether in the middle or on the lines.

Senior Female Player of the Year



David Vos(right), representing Soccerstop, presents Kristin Hood with the Senior Female Player of the Year award.

Kristin Hood, WC Royals FC, enjoyed a fine regular season with the Winsloe Blizzards helping them win both Cup and League, scoring 10 goals.

She enjoyed yet another outstanding season for the Holland College Hurricanes, winning a 2^{nd} team all-star selection and scoring 4 times as the Hurricanes once again made the Atlantic Colleges final.

Kristin is a key player for whichever team she plays with, and is always capable of scoring important goals.

Senior Male Player of the Year



Mike Goeseels(right), PEISA Senior Mens Director, presents Jared Murphy, Winsloe-Charlottetown Royals FC, with the Senior Male Player of the Year award.

Jared Murphy's 14 regular season goals helped PEI FC win the McCain New Brunswick Soccer League. Fast and skillful, Jared is always a handful for any defence, and in his final season at UPEI he scored 6 goals in regular season, winning AUS all-star honours. Jared saved his best though for CIS, and his goals against Saskatchewan, and then a rocket from 25 yards against the University of Montreal, helped the team win bronze, and earn himself Tournament all-star status.

Team of the Year



Front Row(l-r):Jillian Arsenault, Janessa Venoit, Samantha Campbell, Brinley Gallant Back Row (l-r):Kyrsten Coyle, Elly Dobson, Ashlyn Pridham, Renee Silliker, Cassie Gallant, Megan Macdonald, Avery Simpson, Jane Gillis Coaches (l-r): Steve Campbell, Ian Gillis Missing: Gemma Thompson, Hilarie Gaudet, Gracie Somers

Presenting Team of the Year Award: Blair Weeks – PEISA Youth Director(far right)

Summerside United SC – U12 Girls Premier Team

Led by co-coaches Ian Gillis and Steve Campbell, the team finished 2nd in regular season play with a 7-1-4 record despite having only one returning player from the previous season.

Working hard on and off the field, they won bronze in the Summerside and silver at the Winsloe tournaments, before achieving their ultimate goal, winning the provincial gold after a penalty kicks win against Eliot River in the semis, and a 2-0 win in the final over Central Queens, with goals from Kristyn Coyle and Hilary Gaudet, with a shutout by Avery Simpson.

Lowell Stewart Memorial Award



Marg Stewart presents Ben Coles with the Lowell Stewart Memorial Award. The award recognizes soccer skill development, dedication to soccer, sportsmanship and support within a club.

Ben Coles is from the Central Queens Clippers SC.

17 year old Ben has been a club member for more than 10 years and in 2013 he received the club's Youth Service Award for his dedication to the house league, where he coaches, and the annual tournament, where he fulfills many volunteer obligations.

Well-liked by teammates and coaches for his commitment and dedication to the team, Ben and his friends took the initiative to form a u18 team this past year so as to continue playing, and they participated in the Senior Men's League.

Ben also is involved in Duke of Edinburgh, and is a very good track and field athlete.