#### Saskatchewan Soccer Association

# Annual General Meeting

## Saturday, March 23, 2024 – 10:00am

# Regina, SK

#### 1. Call to order

The meeting was called to order at 10:03 a.m. and President Lisa Bagonluri was in the Chair.

#### 2. Greetings from the Chair

The Chair brought greetings to all in attendance and confirmed SSA respect for Treaty Rights.

On behalf of the Board, I would like to acknowledge that the work of Saskatchewan Soccer reaches lands covered by Treaties, 2, 4, 5, 6, 8 & 10 the traditional lands of the Cree, Dakota, Dene, Lakota, Nakota, and Saulteaux peoples as well as homeland of the Metis.

Saskatchewan Soccer Association recognizes that treaty relationships have allowed us the opportunity to share the sport of soccer across this land. We respect and honour the Treaties that were made on all territories, and we are committed to moving forward in partnership with Indigenous Nations in the spirit of reconciliation and collaboration.

The Chair recognized friends of soccer who passed away during 2023.

#### 3. Roll Call

Regular Members: Authorized Voting Delegates & Total Votes (15)

- 1. Astra Academy Chris Zoller
- 2. Battleford Youth Soccer Inc. Kat Huxley
- 3. Estevan Youth & Mini Soccer Jordan Isbister
- 4. Humboldt & District Soccer Sean Brandow
- 5. Kindersley Soccer Inc. Katie Ness
- 6. Lloydminster & District Senior Tanya Malek
- 7. Prince Albert Youth Soccer Association Nnamdi Ndubuka

- 8. Queen City United Soccer Chris Bailey
- 9. Qu'Appelle Valley Soccer Association Andy Methven
- 10. FC Regina Ryan Shillingford
- 11. Saskatoon Youth Soccer Inc. Mark Millard
- 12. TDsoccer Martin Gonzalez
- 13. Valley Soccer Association Jaime Drader
- 14. Weyburn Soccer Association Jason Roy
- 15. Yorkton United Football Club Emily Kruger

A total of **15** Regular Members have met the requirements of the bylaws, are in attendance and are eligible to vote. Quorum is confirmed.

A total of **103** eligible votes are confirmed.

The total required to approve a motion = **52** votes.

The total required to approve bylaw amendments = **69** votes.

# Life Members (2)

Len Chelack

John Leyson

# SSA Directors (11)

President – Lisa Bagonluri

Vice President – Andrew Kitchen

Rattan Bahia

Monica Deters

Janelle Layton

Kyle Moore

Dave Mysko

Jakub Rogowski

Gord Quinlan

Nicole Tryhorn

Glen Schuler

Regrets: Milton Ramirez

#### Director Candidates (2)

Amanda Stith

Temofe Akaba

# Special Guest (1)

Krist Baxter – External Committee Member

## Association Members (1)

Regina Soccer Referees Association – Shaun Augustin

## Regular Members: Non-Voting Delegates (18)

- 1. Astra Academy Joan Nash
- 2. Battleford Youth Soccer Inc. Chelsea Bull
- 3. Estevan Youth & Mini Soccer Derek Mercer
- 4. FC Regina TJ Singh, Markus Reinkens, Sherry Shannon, Gord West, Norma Ursulan, Svetalna Fedosova
- 5. Humboldt & District Soccer Association Wade Stock
- 6. Kindersley Soccer Association Kevin Codd
- 7. Lloydminster & District Senior Soccer Alyssa Ogilvy
- 8. Qu'Appelle Valley Soccer Association Dan Heslip, Dustin Hubick
- 9. Queen City United Soccer Hugh Dooley
- 10. Saskatoon Youth Soccer Inc. Amanda Probe
- 11. Valley Soccer Association Cam Houle, Katrina Lewis

## SSA Staff (6)

Interim Executive Director – Steven Porter

Manager, Member Services – Eden Senger

Manager, Player & Coach Development – Ashlyn Therens

Manager, Referee Development – Octavian Iliuta

Coordinator, Administration & Registrar – Molley Fandrey

IDEA Coordinator - Jen Wood

## 4. Approval of the 2023 Minutes

MOTION: To approve the minutes of the 2023 Annual General Meeting

Moved by: Jaime Drader, Valley Soccer Association

Seconded by: Ryan Shillingford, FC Regina

**CARRIED** 

# 5. Approval of the Agenda

MOTION: To approve the agenda as presented

Moved by: Chris Bailey, Queen City United

Seconded by: Nnamdi Ndubuka, Prince Albert Youth Soccer

CARRIED

#### 6. Report of the Board & Management

## 7. 2023 Audited Financial Statements – Kyle Moore, Chair of Audit & Finance

MOTION: To approve the 2023 audited financial statements as presented.

Moved by: Chris Bailey, Queen City United

Seconded by: Mark Millard, Saskatoon Youth Soccer Inc.

**CARRIED** 

# 8. Appointment of Auditors for 2024 – Kyle Moore, Chair of Audit & Finance

MOTION: To approve Virtus Group as auditors for the 2024 fiscal year.

Moved by: Chris Zoller, Astra Academy

Seconded by: Jason Roy, Weyburn Soccer Association

**CARRIED** 

#### 9. Amendments to the Bylaws – Dave Mysko, Chair of Governance

MOTION: To approve the amendments to the Bylaws as presented.

Moved by: Mark Millard, Saskatoon Youth Soccer Inc.

Seconded by: Ryan Shillingford, FC Regina

**CARRIED** 

# 10. Election of Officers and Directors – Andrew Kitchen in place of Milton Ramirez, Chair of Nominations

MOTION: To approve by acclimation for two-year term:

Lisa Bagonluri – President

Moved by: Nnamdi Ndubuka, Prince Albert Youth Soccer Association

Seconded by: Chris Bailey, Queen City United

CARRIED

MOTION: That the 2024 election for the remaining 5 Director positions be held via a single voting process as follows:

- The 5 candidates achieving the highest total votes will receive 2 -year terms.
- The candidates with the lowest vote total will not be elected to the Board.

Moved by: Mark Millard, Saskatoon Youth Soccer Inc.

Seconded by: Chris Bailey, Queen City United

#### **CARRIED**

MOTION: To appoint Len Chelack and Kristi Baxter as Scrutineers.

Moved by: Sean Brandow, Humboldt & District Soccer

Seconded by: Mark Millard, Saskatoon Youth Soccer Inc.

#### **CARRIED**

MOTION: To Destroy the ballots.

Moved by: Kat Huxley, Battleford Youth Soccer Inc.

Seconded by: Martin Gonzalez, TDsoccer

#### **CARRIED**

RESULTS: The following Directors were elected to 2-year terms.

Gord Quinlan

Jakub Rogowski

Nicole Tryhorn

Amanda Stith

Glen Schuler

The following candidates were not elected:

Rattan Bahia

Temofe Akaba

## 11. To adjourn the 2024 Annual General Meeting at 10:57 a.m.

Moved by: Ryan Shillingford, FC Regina

Minutes prepared by: Steven Porter, March 23, 2024.

