

Saskatoon Youth Soccer Inc.'s Friend of Soccer Award

April 25, 2017

About the Award:

The Saskatoon Youth Soccer Inc. (SYSI)'s *Friend of Soccer Award* is awarded each year to those who have contributed to youth soccer in a meaningful way. An award recipient is selected by each Zone Board for a total of five awards each year.

Nomination Process:

SYSI is pleased to announce we have revamped our *Friend of Soccer Award* nomination process and are now recognizing one recipient per zone instead of one overall recipient per year. We feel there are plenty of deserving volunteers for this award and are excited to be sharing this award with five worthy volunteers each year going forward! Each year individuals may nominate a worthy volunteer of our award and submit their nomination to their respective Zone board. Each of the five Zone boards will compile their nominations and select one recipient to represent their Zone for that year. SYSI will then recognize all five recipients at the "Outdoor Pre-Season Coaches' Night" in April. The nomination form can be found on our website under the "Forms" section. The deadline for nominations will be March 1 of each year and each Zone must form their decision by April 1 of each year.

2016 Award Recipients:

Zone 1 – SUSC – not awarded

SUSC did not receive any nominations to review.

Zone 2 - Hollandia - SEAN COLLINS



Hollandia Soccer Club selected Sean Collins to be the worthy award recipient to represent their zone. Sean has been volunteering in the soccer community for the past nine years as a coach at the community and zone level. He also volunteered for six years as Soccer Coordinator for the Silverwood Heights Community Association. Sean's achievements in the community are the number of returning coaches in Silverwood Heights community soccer with a 60% retention rate of coaches coming back to coach another season in large part due to the support they receive from Sean and the initiatives he helped start. Another noteworthy achievement is the high number of soccer players in the

Silverwood Heights community due to a well-run quality program which attracts players back season after season. The success of the program in the Silverwood Heights community is due in part to the countless hours Sean has contributed to the program over the years. Sean also helped initiate a program partnering with Hollandia Soccer Club, to offer player-centric skilled training sessions to his community level players at the same time mentoring community

coaches. The intention of this program is to blend the community and zone programming for players, coaches, and families to make the transition from community to zone play more comfortable. For the past three years he has been organizing, mentoring, and coaching in this program, positively impacting over 500 mini players and 30 coaches.

Zone 3 – Aurora – MARK SCHRAMM



Aurora Soccer Club selected Mark Schramm to be the worthy award recipient to represent their zone. Mark has been volunteering within Aurora for the past ten years as a Board member, interim technical director (TD), and coach of several teams, often coaching multiple teams at one time. He filled in the duties that would have been the TD's responsibility, he would regularly fill in for other coaches that couldn't make their games or practices and never at the sacrifice of his own teams. He was always the positive person, the go-to guy if you needed an answer or you needed advice. He was the first to deal with the problems and was a wealth of knowledge for the board members and the Zone Families. There was a long period when Aurora was without a TD or transitioning to new TD's. Mark was their mentor as well. He gave them guidance while not making decisions Mark was at every player evaluation and every session, even the day after having a surgery on one occasion. If he wasn't coaching, you would see him in the stands

watching and doing in-season evaluations to help with the placements for next season. Mark's achievements are not limited to one event or one accomplishment. It has been a success with every level he has been involved with in Aurora and I can't think of a more overdue or deserving person for this award in Aurora right now.

Zone 4 – Lakewood – *not awarded*

Lakewood did not receive any nominations to review.

Zone 5 – Eastside – TREVOR CONQUERGOOD



Eastside Youth Soccer Association (EYSA) selected Trevor Conquergood to be the worthy award recipient to represent their zone. Trevor has been volunteering with EYSA for the past eight years, approx. seven years with Saskatoon Adult Soccer (SAS), and a number of years with the Greystone Heights and College Park Community Associations. He has held several coaching positions at the zone and community level, has been a board member of SAS, and has sat on the EYSA technical committee. Some of his achievements have been known for being one of the most active coaches within EYSA, he's coached since his early 20's where he started out coaching for College Park community, and seeing the kids he coached stick with soccer and continue paying as an adult. One of Trevor's greatest strength was his ability to make sure that the kids he had on his teams had a positive experience, no matter the talent

level or division played. For example, he would contact soccer associations outside of Saskatoon to set up special soccer days with his Division 3 teams so those kids felt special and had an exciting experience. Sometimes the focus is on the higher division teams having all the unique experiences, whereas Trevor believed that every kid should remember their time playing sports regardless of the commitment and skill level. Trevor helped make the kids he coached better on both counts because of his passion and love of playing and coaching.

Past Recipients:

- 1989 Al Day
- 1990 Jill Postlethwaite
- 1991 Bob Speed
- 1992 Ross Wilson
- 1993 Ken & Carol Wagner
- 1994 Jim Cook
- 1995 Percy Hoff
- 1996 Huw Morris
- 1997 John Riggs
- 1998 John Tomchuk
- 1999 Garry Harder
- 2000 Lawrence Martz
- 2001 Bernadette Garrity
- 2002 Pat Gillies
- 2003 Gloria Rowan
- 2004 not awarded
- 2005 Mike Grevers
- 2006 Brett Mario
- 2007 Bob McAllister
- 2008 Hal Lackie
- 2009 Terry Carruthers
- 2010 Tom LaPointe
- 2011 Joe Garcea
- 2012 Ed Halyk
- 2013 Mark Lord
- 2014 Bob Rohachuk
- 2015 Wilf McDougall
- 2016 Zone 1 not awarded
 - Zone 2 Sean Collins
 - Zone 3 Mark Schramm
 - Zone 4 not awarded
 - Zone 5 Trevor Conquergood