

# Saskatoon Youth Soccer Inc.'s Friend of Soccer Award 2018

Presented on April 16, 2019

### About the Award:

The Saskatoon Youth Soccer Inc. (SYSI)'s *Friend of Soccer Award* is awarded each year to those who have contributed to youth soccer in a meaningful way. An award recipient is selected by each Zone Board for a total of five awards each year.

# **Nomination Process:**

SYSI is pleased to announce we have revamped our *Friend of Soccer Award* nomination process and are now recognizing one recipient per zone instead of one overall recipient per year. We feel there are plenty of deserving volunteers for this award and are excited to be sharing this award with five worthy volunteers each year going forward! Each year individuals may nominate a worthy volunteer of our award and submit their nomination to their respective Zone board. Each of the five Zone boards will compile their nominations and select one recipient to represent their Zone for that year. SYSI will then recognize all five recipients at the "Outdoor Pre-Season Coaches' Night" in April. The nomination form can be found on our website under the "Forms" section. The deadline for nominations is end of February each year and each Zone must form their decision by late March each year.

# 2018 Award Recipients:

# Zone 1 – SUSC – Shawn Dyky



Saskatoon United Soccer Club awarded Shawn Dyky as their Friend of Soccer recipient for 2018. Shawn has been coaching and assistant coaching his children's soccer teams for the past 14 years and has been SUSC's annual equipment manager for the past 5 to 6 years. A fellow SUSC Board member nominated him and had the following to say: "He is deserving of this award because of all the endless work he does for our Zone. He coordinates and provides all of the uniforms and equipment for every SUSC team; season after season, without complaint or much acknowledgement of his tireless efforts.

Besides handling everything within his Equipment Manager role, he is always more than happy to jump in and lend a hand anywhere he can. Shawn is a very humble and kind person. He prefers to stay under the radar, but without him our Zone would be lost. Most members don't know how much he puts into all of the things he does for SUSC and Shawn would be the last person to ever tell you. If you ever take a minute to thank Shawn for all his efforts, I guarantee you his response will be, "Thanks, I just try to do the best that I can, It's all for the kids". Alongside SUSC player Khimo Cordero, Shawn recently helped coordinate donating used uniforms and equipment to kids in Belize. In our opinion, that is exactly the type of person you want as a Zone Board Member and that is exactly how we want our Zone represented. Thank you for all that you do, Shawn!"

#### Zone 2 – Hollandia – Leigh Saunders



Hollandia Soccer Club awarded Leigh Saunders as their Friend of Soccer recipient for 2018. Leigh has been a consistent and dedicated coach for the Hollandia zone since his daughters started playing four years ago and most seasons he's willing to coach two teams. A fellow Hollandia Board member nominated him and had the following to say: "He is known for being inspiring, personable and engaging with the players and parents and sets and creases excellent team spirit. He has always coached division 3 teams with a focus on improving skills and making the game fun. This season Leigh will be

moving to Winnipeg and Hollandia wishes to show their appreciation and bid farewell to him as a much deserving coach for this award."

#### Zone 3 – Aurora Soccer – Kevin Foster



Aurora Soccer Club has awarded Kevin Foster as their Friend of Soccer recipient for 2018. Kevin started coaching for the Aurora Soccer Club 10 years ago. A fellow Aurora Board member nominated him and had the following to say: "He was a great coach and a great example for the U12 girls who were only still learning the game and how to compete in a competitive sport. Shortly after Kevin became a coach he joined the Aurora board, and throughout the years Kevin accumulated many board positions like treasurer and secretary, and evaluation team. Kevin continued to coach even after both of his daughters stopped participating in youth soccer for several years. He

has been a long time member of the Aurora community constantly helping to improve the club however he can and has improved the quality of soccer for many youth players in the zone. These are a few of the reasons why he deserves the Friend of Soccer award."

# Zone 4 – Lakewood – Dan Weber



Lakewood Soccer Association has awarded Dan Weber as their Friend of Soccer recipient for 2018. Dan volunteered with Lakewood for the past 4 to 5 years as a coach and also held board positions such as vice president, technical coordinator, and SYSI Program Coordination Committee rep. A fellow Lakewood Board member nominated him and had the following to say: "He was often seen coaching two teams per season and gave tirelessly to our Zone. Thank you Dan, for all of your dedication and meaningful contributions you have made to youth soccer."

#### Zone 5 – Eastside – Lynne Gelner

Eastside Youth Soccer Association has awarded Lynne Gelner as their Friend of Soccer recipient for 2018. Lynne has been volunteering with the Eastside zone for at least 10 years as a valued board member and equipment manager. A fellow Eastside Board member nominated her and had the following to say: "She brings passion, commitment, organization, and enthusiasm to the club, the players, and everyone around her. We are very fortunate to have such an outstanding volunteer in our zone who is much deserving of this award."

# **Past Recipients:**

1989	Al Day
1990	Jill Postlethwaite
1991	Bob Speed
1992	Ross Wilson
1993	Ken & Carol Wagner
1994	Jim Cook
1995	Percy Hoff
1996	Huw Morris
1997	John Riggs
1998	John Tomchuk
1999	Garry Harder
2000	Lawrence Martz
2001	Bernadette Garrity
2002	Pat Gillies
2003	Gloria Rowan
2004	not awarded
2005	Mike Grevers
2006	Brett Mario
2007	Bob McAllister
2008	Hal Lackie
2009	Terry Carruthers
2010	Tom LaPointe
2011	Joe Garcea
2012	Ed Halyk
2013	Mark Lord
2014	Bob Rohachuk
2015	Wilf McDougall

2016	Zone 1 - <i>not awarded</i>
	Zone 2 - Sean Collins
	Zone 3 - Mark Schramm
	Zone 4 - <i>not awarded</i>
	Zone 5 - Trevor Conquergood
2017	Zone 1 - Lorena Walls
	Zone 2 - Paola Kobussen/Sean Wilson
	Zone 3 - Shaun Eaton
	Zone 4 - Leonard Lewko
	Zone 5 - David Chan
2018	Zone 1 - Shawn Dyky
	Zone 2 - Leigh Saunders
	Zone 3 - Kevin Foster
	Zone 4 - Dan Weber
	Zone 5 - Lynne Gelner