BCASA Annual General Meeting Minutes 2022



IN ATTENDANCE:

Softball BC AGM Minutes September 22, 2022 Coast Tsawwassen Inn, Tsawwassen, BC

Lisa Parkes, Interim President Rachel Charles, Vice President, Finance Scott Wheatley, Director at Large Lavaughn Larson, Director, Minor Susan Strafford, Director, Provincial Umpire in Chief Barry Petrachenko, Executive Director

Meeting called to order at 2:07pm on Saturday October 22, 2022

Lisa Parkes welcomed the voting delegates and asked for the voting strength. 53 delegates were confirmed.

Motion to accept the agenda (S. Parker/K. Langley) Carried

Motion to approve the minutes of the 2021 AGM on October 23, 2021 (S. Strafford/K. Dennedy) Carried

No Business Arising from 2021 Minutes

Motion to accept the Director's Reports for 2022 (A. Groff/D. MacPherson) Carried

Rachel Charles reviewed the Financial Report

C. Young asked for more detail to the current general account as noted on the report. Asked why the average minor teams pays \$543 but the seniors are \$175.

L. Gabelhouse asked for growth and loss future foresight to be noted and asked for quarterly reports to be released along with operation costs sent to associations. R. Charles offered to help associations mitigate the budgeting process.

Motion to accept the 2022 Finance Report (T. Allen/S. Brandt)

Chair Lisa Parkes acknowledged the following Award Recipients:

Hall of Fame Dennis Eckert (Athlete) John Green (Athlete) Rick O'Connor (Builder) Bryan Sask (Builder) Craig Donaldson (Builder)

50 Years of Service Bob Buchan

Nelson Hughes

VOLUNTEER AWARDS

Zeone Andrijaszyn Volunteer of the Year – Al Groff and Barry Riva Unsung Hero – Ashlene Minnabarriette

COACHING/BUILDER CATEGORIES Bryan Sask Coach of the Year – Chad Bryden Community Coach of the Year – Graham Cousins Brian Joe Award - Sportsperson/Builder – Tom Yipp

UMPIRE CATEGORY Official of the Year – Tim Thiessen

Rising Star – Elizabeth McEachern

MINOR ATHLETE CATEGORY Community Minor Athlete of the Year – Loa Heath Indigenous Minor Athlete of the Year – Nevada Johnson Rep Minor Athlete of the Year – Riley Woodward

MEN'S and WOMEN'S ATHLETE CATEGORY Indigenous Athlete of the Year – Chad Ghostkeeper Men's and/or Women's Fastpitch Athlete of the Year – Maddy Jones Men's and/or Women's Slo-pitch Athlete of the Year – Mitchell Rainer Masters Athlete of the Year – Norm Linton

OTHER

Men's and Women's Service Award – Al Groff and Barry Riva Minor Service Award – Jerry Bains Umpire Service Award – Arne Austring and Don Fiedler

TEAM CATEGORY

Men's and/or Women's Fastpitch Team of the Year – PoCo Ravens Men's and/or Women's Slo-pitch Team of the Year – Focus West Athletics Minor Team of the Year – Terrace Mariners U17 Boys

ASSOCIATION CATEGORY

MVP Association of the Year – Small – Fleetwood Fastpitch Association MVP Association of the Year – Large – Richmond Girls Softball Association

Election for Directors and Officers (all were acclaimed)

Lisa Parkes – President (two-year term) Kevin Langley – Vice-President (one-year term) Director of Coaching – Chad Bryden (two-year term) Minor Director – Lavaughn Larson (two-year term) Men's and Women's Director – Al Groff (two-year term) Member-At-Large – Scott Wheatley (two-year term)

Closing remarks by Lisa Parkes – thanking those who attended and mentioned all areas have shown increases and that the energy in the room feels great and the future looks good.

The meeting adjourned at 2:45pm (J. Ranchoux/S. Brandt)

