

PO BOX 383 SOOKE, BC V9Z 1G1 www.sookeminorhockey.ca

#### **ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING**

18 April 2023 7:00 p.m. Sooke Community Hall **MINUTES** 

In Attendance: See ANNEX A

1. Roll call:

Meeting was called to order at 7:00pm. Carrie Coleman confirmed attendance with Treasurer, Kathleen Chisholm.

2. Establishment of quorum:

Quorum was established.

3. Approval of the previous minutes, April 22th, 2022:

Motion to approve made by Kathleen Chisholm, seconded by Nick Szadkowski - CARRIED

4. Correspondence:

No correspondence to report

5. President's report:

Carrie Coleman -brief overview of submitted report.

6. Vice Presidents' reports:

Nick Szadkowski, VP Ops – brief overview of submitted report. (Rob MacConnachie not in attendance) – see submitted report.

7. Treasurer's report:

Brief overview of submitted report.

Balance Sheet and Income Statement distributed.

Digital copies retained by Secretary for reference.

8. Approval of the financial statements:

Motion to approve the financial statements as submitted made by Nick Szadkowski, seconded by Leona Lewco – CARRIED

Approval of written reports:

Motion to approve the reports as submitted made by Leona Lewo, seconded by Duncan Havens — CARRIED See ANNEX B

- 10. Amendments to Bylaws:
- a) Section 5.3.1

Change:

The Association shall have no fewer than thirteen (13) and no more than



PO BOX 383 SOOKE, BC V9Z 1G1 www.sookeminorhockey.ca

seventeen (17) Directors.

to

The Association shall have no fewer than thirteen (13) and no more than nineteen (19) Directors.

VOTE TO APPROVE - 44 in favour, 0 opposed - CARRIED

b) Section 5.5.1

Change:

The Directors of the Association shall be:

- a) President;
- b) Immediate Past President;
- c) Vice President Hockey Operations;
- d) Vice President Administration;
- e) Secretary;
- f) Treasurer;
- g) Registrar;
- h) Coach Coordinator;
- i) Referee-in-Chief;
- j) Ice Allocator; and
- k) no fewer than three (3) and no more than seven (7)Directors at Large.

to

The Directors of the Association shall be:

- a) President;
- b) Immediate Past President;
- c) Vice President Hockey Operations;
- d) Vice President Administration;
- e) Secretary;
- f) Treasurer;
- g) Registrar;
- h) Coach Coordinator;
- i) Referee-in-Chief;
- j) Ice Allocator; and
- k) no fewer than three (3) and no more than nine (9)Directors at Large.

VOTE TO APPROVE - 44 in favour, 0 opposed - CARRIED

c) Section 5.6.3



PO BOX 383 SOOKE, BC V9Z 1G1 www.sookeminorhockey.ca

### Change:

Directors holding the positions of Registrar, Coach Coordinator, Referee-in-Chief, and Ice Allocator and Director At Large shall serve one (1) year terms. The term shall commence at the end of the Annual General Meeting at which the Director was elected and terminate at the end of the Annual General Meeting occurring approximately one (1) year later.

to

Directors holding the positions of Immediate Past President, Registrar, Coach Coordinator, Referee-in-Chief, Ice Allocator, and Director At Large shall serve one (1) year terms. The term shall commence at the end of the Annual General Meeting at which the Director was elected and terminate at the end of the Annual General Meeting occurring approximately one (1) year later.

VOTE TO APPROVE - 44 in favour, 0 opposed - CARRIED

#### 11. General Business:

- a) Awards
  Nick Szadkowski –Association awards announced. See ANNEX C
- b) Draw for free registration
   Nick Szadkowski: random draw paper ballot pulled by attending member Hunter Souter. Winner Katie Rabishaw
- 12. Elections and Formation of New Executive:

  Carrie Coleman: All nominations read to the floor for approval.

#### **Table Officers**

President, full term - Carrie Coleman, uncontested

Motion to approve made by Kathleen Chisholm, seconded by Duncan Gray —CARRIED

VP Admin, full term - Ian Biller, uncontested

Motion to approve made by Leona Lewco, seconded by Duncan Havens —CARRIED

Secretary, full term - Kari Stauble, uncontested Motion to approve made by Leona Lewco, seconded by Kala Chaulk –CARRIED

#### Directors with Portfolios

Head Coach - Duncan Gray, uncontested Motion to approve made by Kala, Chaulk seconded by Leona Lewco –CARRIED

Ice Allocator - Duncan Havens, uncontested

Motion to approve made by Leona Lewco, seconded by Kala Chaulk –CARRIED

RIC (Referee in Chief) - Marianne Waldemaras, uncontested Motion to approve made by Jacob Thomas, seconded by Leona Lewco –CARRIED

Registrar - Nominees: Lindsay Havens and Katie Jensen
Paper ballots collected and counted. Elected: Lindsay Havens
Motion to approve made by Nick Szadkowski, seconded by Kathleen Chisholm –CARRIED



PO BOX 383 SOOKE, BC V9Z 1G1 www.sookeminorhockey.ca

### 7 Directors at Large

Nominees: Matt Banner, Kala Chaulk, Allen Johnston, Seija Laukkanen, Leona Lewco, Roger Mehr, Christina Moog, Jill Timmins

Paper ballots collected and counted. Elected: Matt Banner, Kala Chaulk, Allen Johnston, Seija Laukkanen, Leona Lewco, Roger Mehr, Christina Moog.

Motion to approve made by Katie Rabishaw, seconded by Duncan Gray -CARRIED

Formation of the new Executive complete.

### 13. Adjournment:

Carrie Coleman: First meeting of the new Executive will be May 16, 2023 6:30pm at Sooke Community Hall Motion to adjourn the AGM made by Leona Lewco, seconded by Kathleen Chisholm –CARRIED Meeting adjourned at 8:10pm